top of page
  • Writer's pictureRain Ko

Week 9: Sarah Swindell, Watermelon Creative 02.09.2024

Updated: Mar 10



Reflecting on My Career Path During Uncertain Times


I studied for my Fashion Knitwear High Diploma, Fashion Design degree, and Fashion Merchandising postgraduate degree during a tumultuous period in Hong Kong and the world. The political unrest in my city and the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic caused me to miss out on valuable internship and placement opportunities that employers typically seek in candidates.


Completing a placement year automatically increases the chances of securing graduate employment. All top employers prioritize candidates with related work experience. However, as someone without experience in the fashion industry, I fear what employers may think of me and if they'll feel reluctant to hire without it. These doubts led me to meet Sarah Swindell, owner and director of UK creative agency Watermelon, for advice. Sarah reassured me that while prior experience is beneficial, a strong portfolio demonstrating a passion for the industry and company is most important initially. She advised researching companies thoroughly to highlight interest and preparation during interviews. With the right presentation of skills and enthusiasm, opportunities still exist. Her perspective relieved some worries.


In our seminar, I expressed uncertainty over my career path. Everyone laughed understandingly when I said I didn't know my ideal future job. Sarah said not knowing is okay - nobody can predict everything. Sometimes opportunities arise unexpectedly from connections with others, as Maria shared, changing career directions after someone's suggestion. She thought she would work in the fashion industry forever, but she never thought about teaching.


While a placement year eluded me due to circumstances beyond my control, I'm taking confidence from creatives who altered courses unexpectedly or entered roles differently than originally planned. My studies, continuously developing portfolio, and willingness to explore various prospects will steer me in the right direction, even if it is unclear currently. There remains time after graduation to gain applicable experiences, too. For now, maintaining optimism and open-mindedness seems the best approach.




2 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page